Question

Orchestration Pipeline - Getting Variable Back from Called Job?

• 30 January 2023
  • 4 replies

Hello, I am new to Streamsets, I have tried to find answer to this question.

I can see a worked example at my place of work where an Orchestration Pipeline can pass a variable down to a Transformer Job in the Runtime Parameters, 

eg…    

1. Collector Pipeline Fragment (Jython)

for record in sdc.records:
  try:
    if :
    else:
    record.value['LATEST_DATE'] = ….
    sdc.output.write(record)

1. Orchestration Pipeline then executed Transformer Job node “branch_one_run” passing the value as a parameter in the Runtime Parameters
"LATEST_DATE": "${record:value("/LATEST_DATE")}",

1. Subsequent Stream Splitter node in the Orchestrator pipeline can determine course of action to take based on whether the call to the Transformer job was successful… ${record:value('/orchestratorTasks/branch_one_run/success')==true}

But is it possible for the Orchestrator to also get a bespoke variable containing value / values back from the called Transformer job that it can use to pass as a parameter to subsequent Transformer Job Nodes?

I have seen the following post

which shows a way of picking up parm values from a table so perhaps that is the only way of doing this (using a table as the commarea).  The first transformer called writing its output to a table and then using the Orchestration JDBC node to get this data into a parm for subsequent job calls?

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

@CS_1970 

Please find below the reference document for orchestration pipeline.

https://academy.streamsets.com/learn/course/6/play/89/lab-build-an-orchestration-pipeline

As per my knowledge we can’t  pass job parameter from one job to another.

I might be wrong but can you please elaborate your case study in details ,so i can try to help you.

Thanks & Regards

Bikram_