Solved

Pipeline fails with java.lang.NullPointerException when there are no more records to read from table with JDBC Query Consumer & JDBC Producuer

Hi,

I am new to streamsets here, so please bear with my questions :) Here is my first one. 

I created a simple pipeline to copy data from a employee table running sqlserver to employee table on postgresql. I used a JDBC Query consumer to pull records in incrementally using the offset value and a JDBC Producer stage to insert records. 

When I run the pipeline, it starts execution, select all records from sqlserver and inserts into postgres and then return a java.lang.NullPointerException. It goes into retry mode and continues to fail with same error on every retry attempt. 

I tried adding more records in the table so that the next retry attempt would pull the new records based on the offset value, however, the pipeline is not pulling them. 

I also tried filtering null records using stream selector, but it didnt work. 

I also added Pipeline Finisher stage to end the pipeline when a “no more data” event is generated, but it doesnt seem to work as expected either. The pipeline continues to throw java.lang.NullPointerException on subsequent retires. 

Kindly advise as to where I am going wrong here. 

I have attached the log file(in case it helps)

Pipeline Config - 
JDBC Query Consumer stage - 
    - JDBC connection to sqlserver
    - SQL Query - SELECT empid, empName, createTS from MWPOC.dbo.employee where createTS >  ${OFFSET} order by createTS;
    - Initial Offset  - '2023-03-13 09:49:50.707'
    - Offset Column - createTS
    - Mode - Incremental

Offset value in offset.json file in SDC after the pipeline stops is given below. 

"offsets" : {
    "$com.streamsets.datacollector.pollsource.offset$" : "2023-03-15 14:33:16.04"
  },

JDBC Producer 1 stage - 
    - JDBC connection to postgresql 
    - schema - schema name of postgresql database
    - table name - employee

Error Stack Trace: (attached)